Dialog ‘A’ division league tournament:Havies-Navy will be a battle for supremacy | Sunday Observer

Dialog ‘A’ division league tournament:Havies-Navy will be a battle for supremacy

12 February, 2017

The high-riding Navy Sports Club will have a terrific battle on their hands for supremacy against Havelock Sports Club in their Dialog ‘A’ Division league rugby return game which will bring the curtain down on the league tournament at Navy grounds, Welisara at 4 pm today.

The Navy lads played a superb game against CR & FC in their last game at

Longden Place pulling off a spectacular win by 37 points to 34 hence they will have to come up with a similar performance if they hope to overcome the Havies.

The forte of the Navy side has been their power-packed forwards and along with their speedy three quarter line with players of the calibre of skipper Roshan Ranasinghe, Nivanka Prasad, Danushka “Gertha” Perera, Dulanjana Wijesinghe, Adeesha Weeratunga, Stefan Gregory, lanky Supun Peiris, Sathya Ranatunga, Richie Dharmapala, Lahiru Herath, Budhdhima Piyaratne, Chanaka Chandimal and Tharindu Maduranga, along with their ever green centre Lee Keegal are likely to give off their best to create a bonus point win at their own den in Welisara.

Meanwhile the hapless Havies side who lost to Kandy by 26-11 after a miserable performance last week at Havelock Park has to improve their playing standard, get their act together and play a good game if they are to beat the Sailors.


Navy SC (Probable XV): Roshan Ranasinghe (Captain), Dulanjana Wijesinghe, Sathya Ranatunga, Supun Peiris, Sajith Saranga, Danushka “Gertha” Perera, Adeesha Weeratunga, Nivanka Prasad, Richie Dharmapala and Chanaka Chandimal, Buddhima Piyaratne, Lee Keegal, Thanuja Maduranga, Sajith Roshan, Thilina Weerasinghe, Head Coach: Mothilal Jayathilake, Asst.Coach: Dev Anandh

Havelocks SC (Probable XV): Dushmantha Priyadarshana “Bodhi” (Captain), Prasath Madushanka, Ashan Darling, Ganindu Lakshan, Jason Melder, Sharo Fernando, Shenal Deelaka, Sudarshana Muthuthanthri, Sudam Sooriarachchi and Niroshan Fernando, Chamara Dabare, Hirantha Perera, Nishon Perera, Chamika Kusal, Kevin “Kutty” Dixon, Coach: Ronnie Ibrahim

Referee: Charlie Brown