Mercantile spiking tourney set for next month | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

Mercantile spiking tourney set for next month

The Mercantile Volleyball Association organized annual Tournament for men and women will be held next month at the National Youth Services complex.

This year the organizers expect over 100 teams to participate at this event under three categories Super League, Champions and Division ‘A’ for both Men and women categories. These details were disclosed to the media by Secretary of the Association A.S. Nalaka at a press briefing held at the National Olympic House Auditorium recently.

The Association has a membership over 100 Mercantile firms out of which many firms have come forward to sponsor the tournament. The Platinum sponsor for the event will be MAS Holdings while other sponsors are for gold and Silver. With their lavish sponsorships coming from sponsors the organizers have decided to distribute a total of Rs. 1.5million as cash awards to winning teams and as special awards.

Super League section consists of eight teams that qualified for the quarter finals last year while Champions class is expected to a have around 35 team and the Division ‘A’ 40 teams.

Firms registered with the Association are hereby requested to send in their application addressed to Secretary, Mercantile Volleyball Association, No. 33 Torrington Place Colombo 07 on or before August 09, with the marking Mercantile Volleyball 2017 on top of the envelop.

The winner of the Super League is to receive a cash award of Rs.150,000 while in the same category women are to receive Rs.100,000 in addition to Trophies. There will also be special cash awards to Best Player, Best Setter and Best Spiker.

President of the MVA Col. Sujith Jayasundera speaking said that form next year the Association is hoping to limit the number of teams as it needs more days to conduct the tourney.. He further added that to conduct a larger number of matches finding suitable locations are difficult.

MVA is set to conduct the event on a grand scale this year.