Fairway Literary Awards 2017 - Shortlist announced | Sunday Observer

Fairway Literary Awards 2017 - Shortlist announced

* History and social exploration, front runners in the FNLA Shortlist

* 13 novels from the three language categories to contend for the Fairway National Literary Awards

The shortlist for the third Fairway National Literary Awards was announced recently at a gathering well attended by academics, literary enthusiasts and the media.

The judges – all eminent persons in their respective fields - chose a total of 13 novels; five from the Sinhala language category and four each from the Tamil and English language categories.

The shortlisted novels in the English language category are;

Dutugemunu: Prince of Destiny by Rukmani Samaranayake – a retelling of the Mahavamsa by taking a new look at one of Sri Lanka’s iconic historical figures,

Song of the Sun God by Shankari Chandran – a family history set against a backdrop of civil upheaval,

Wrath of Kali: The dark side of God by Mario Perera – an in-depth exploration of the psychotherapy of a nation and religion’s part in a struggle for liberation, and

The Other One by Amanda Jay – an engaging and twisty steampunk influenced science fiction work.

The five shortlisted Sinhala novels:

Handa Paluwa Thani Tharuwa by Nissanka Wijemanna – a look at inter-racial relationships in a society deeply divided by religious and cultural differences,

Yakada Silpara by Wimal Udaya Hapugodaarachchi – a tale of traditional village life in the early 20th century being disrupted by the onset of the railway,

Garunda Muhurthiya by Keerthi Welisarage – an exploration of realistic expression in portraying the changes taking place in rural society as a result of colonialism,

Panduka Puthra Wasthuwa by Anurasiri Hettige – a sensitive and deep analysis of the life patterns of the urban lower middle class and the facet of homosexuality in that milieu, and

Nikini Kaluwara by Deepthi Mangala Rajapaksha – a tale spanning six decades probing political changes and their dark ramifications in Sri Lanka.

The panel of judges for the Tamil language category comprise: V. Maheswaran, Sumathy Sivamohan and M. S. M. Anes.

The four selected novels are:

Thazhumbu by M. Balasingham – a story depicting the disruption of family and social cohesion by displacement during the war,

Kulaimurisal by J. Wahabdeen – an exploration of dynamic class relationships prevalent in the tenant farmer system in the East.

Ethanam by Theniyaan – the tracing of particular moments in the class struggle focusing on the oppressed Dalits, and

Neenthik Kadantha Nerupparu by N. Yohendranathan – recounting the final phase of the civil war.

Each shortlisted novelist will receive a sum of Rs. 100,000 and the winning novelists in the three language categories will each receive Rs. 500,000 at the Fairway Galle Literary Festival to be held in January 2018. 


This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.