Sylvestrians out to impress this season | Sunday Observer

Sylvestrians out to impress this season

St. Sylvester’s College is all out to make a big impact with limited facilities during the current school cricket season. Over the years the school has produced some fine cricketers who have gone on to represent top clubs in the district, and the country, with distinction. The Sylvestrians are a hard unit to beat who has displayed fighting qualities. Being one of the cricket playing schools that does not enjoy the luxuries some schools enjoy, Sylvestrians are bound to put up a great display this season.

They are led by fourth year player H.M. Avidu Hearth a stylish right hand batsman. He made some useful scores last season and no doubt should give of his best this season as well.. He is the stumper of the side. His deputy is Heshan Attaragalle he too is a fourth year player, who is a right arm paceman and a hard hitting middle order batsman, the other coloursman playing in his fourth year is M.A.K.N. Mumaweera a left hand batsman he too can keep wickets. The Others in

the squad are J.M.D.K.C.B. Jayasekara a right-hand bat and an off spin bowler, R.M.N. M.J Rajapakse a steady right hand batsman and also a good pace bowler, H.K.G. Nishsharika a left hand batsman, M Pavithran a good right arm leg spinner and a hard hitter, J.A.C.L. Jayakody right hand bat, C. Hiroshan a left arm leg spinner. Then the second year players are M.W.A. Isuranga a right hand bat, B.R.N.M. Balsooriya a left hander.

The fresher’s are S.A. Kumar, H.P.M. Hettiarachchi, K.J. Edirithilake, I.L. Jayakodi, P.V. Koralegedera, N.D. Wijesinghe, K.J.M.M. L. Silva, G.U.C.S. Rajaguru, S. Rifoshan, R.P.K. Waduge, U.K.G.P.K.R.R. Jayakody and K.D. Jayasinghe.

They are coached by their 2000/01 captain Jaliya Weerasinghe, this is his fourth year as coach, he hopes to continue the good work. He is well backed and is supported by MIC Palinda Mahee de Silva, the man who gives all the necessary support to the team with the help of the principal T. Ranil S. Meethiyagoda.

Rest of the tournament matches are October 30-31 Lumbini at BRC grounds, January 4-5 Zahira Colombo at Pallekelle, 11-12 Mahinda College in Galle, 25-26 Maliyadewa College at Pallekelle, 29-30 Ananda College at Ananda Mawatha, (Traditional games) October 19-20 Kingswood College Policegrounds, 276-27 Dharmaraja College Lake View, February 8-9 Mahanama College Pallekelle, 22-23 St. Sebastian’s College at Asgiriya stadium.