Manish, Shirantha Drag race winners at Katukurunda | Sunday Observer

Manish, Shirantha Drag race winners at Katukurunda

Ashhar Hameem hands over the memento to Base Commander of the Katukurunda Base Mohan Balasooriya. Also in the picture are Andrew Silva Secretary SMSC and Lion Wasantha Weerasekera.
Ashhar Hameem hands over the memento to Base Commander of the Katukurunda Base Mohan Balasooriya. Also in the picture are Andrew Silva Secretary SMSC and Lion Wasantha Weerasekera.

Southern Motor Sports Club (SMSC) ended their Racing Calendar for the year 2017 on a grand scale conducting the Drag Race meet at the Rotherham Circuit, at Ratmalana Air Base recently. Manish Goonetilleke was declared as the best Driver while Shirantha Anuradha carried away the Best Rider’s Trophy.

The organizers conducted nineteen events (13 cars and 6 Motor Cycle events) in different classes during the meet. The highlight of the Motor cycle events saw many young riders aspiring to be on the track in the near future participating at this meet.

SMSC had to face many difficulties on this day due inclement weather. The drivers and riders too had to face many hardships on the previous day as they could not do their practices sessions on that day. However the organizers made arrangements to run the pre runs in the morning of the final day. Due to these hardships the meet had go on till late evening and the organizers had to postpone the Awards ceremony for another day. The Awards ceremony was held at the Royal College Union Hall, Colombo on 15th December with all sponsors present.

The SMSC had the support from the Lions Club and many sponsors who came forward to help the club to make this event a Success.

A Special Memento was presented to the Air Base Commander of the Katukurunda Mohan Balasooriya for giving the fullest co-operation to conduct the event at the Base Circuit.


Class 1 Cars up to 1000cc NA - 1.Saman Kumara (Austin Mini) 2. Dilupa Palliyataguru (Nissan March K10)

Class 2 cars 1001-1300cc NA - 1. Sithara Peiris (VW POLO), 2. Imraz Fayroze (Daihatsu Charade)

Class 3 cars 1301-1500cc NA - 1. Jude Shehan (Honda Civic EG8), 2. Roshan Hettiarachichi (Honda EV2)

Class 4 1501-1600cc NA- 1. Rumesh Rajakulendran (Honda Civic EK4), 2. Gihan Dheerasekara (Honda Civic EG6)

Class 6 cars 1801-2500cc NA - 1. Randika Niroshan (Honda Integra DC2), 2. Janaka Mayakaduwa (Honda Civic EK4)

Class 7 Cars Electric/hybrid up to 12kw - 1. Imraan Ismail (Honda CRZ), 2. Rehan Rishafy (Honda CRZ)

Class 8 Cars up to 1600cc Turbo Open 1. Ravi Bhagya (Toyota Starlet GT), 2. Tyronne Hendawithana (Toyota Starlet GT)

Class 9 Cars Starlet GT One Make - 1. Inshaff Iqbal (Toyota Starlet GT), 2. Chamara Irugalratna (Toyota Starlet GT)

Class 10: Cars Starlet GT One Make - 1. Saby Salam (Nissan Skyline R32), 2. Jaikishen Jayasingha (Porsche Boxster S)

Class 11 Cars 4WD Open – 1. Manish Goonetillake (Mitsubishi Evo 4 RS), 2. Jihan Akbar (Mitsubishi EVO 3)

Class12 up to 2000 AWD Stock Turbo - 1. Amila Kalugampitiya (Mitsubishi Evolution 4), 2. S D Manoj (Mitsubishi Evolution 4)

Class Truck & Jeeps Open - 1. D.S. Rajasekara (Subaru Forester), 2. Sandun Kulasiri 9Subaru Forester)

Class 19 Lancer Club One Make 1. Chan Sameera (Lancer) 2. Sasindu Jayandika (Lancer)\

Class BMW Club One Make 1. Akila de Silva (E36) 2. Arshard Kaleel (E36)

Class 14 Bikes Super 600cc - 1. D.M.S.R. de Silva (Suzuki GSXR), 2. Maduranga Kaldera (Yamaha R6)

Class 15 : Bikes Super Sports 600CC 1. Den Lyanage Kushan Tharanga (Yamaha),2. Insaaf Basheer (Suzuki GSXR)

Class 16 Bikes Super Motard Open 1.Charuka Ukkwatta( KTM), 2. Upul Tissera (KTM)

Class 17 Bikes Sports Touring 1. Purnaka Prasad (Aprilla Daredevill) 2. Charuka Ukkwattage (Ducati Street Fighter)

Class 21 Modified Super Sports Motorcycles 250cc 1. H.G. Nipun Dilanka, (CBR 250),2. Joint winners H.A.J.Kaushalya (CBR 250), Kanchana de Silva (CBR 250) and Janaka Dinesh Priyankara (CBR 250)

Fastes Time: Bikes Sriyantha Anuradha (Honda CBR) 10.321secs.

Fastest Time: Cars Manish Gunetlleke (Cars 4WD Open) 10.816 secs.


This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.