‘Singer Cup’ U-19 Schools Cricket: Wesley shot out for 26 lose by an innings | Sunday Observer

‘Singer Cup’ U-19 Schools Cricket: Wesley shot out for 26 lose by an innings

All-rounders Avindu Theekshana and Dilum Sudheera took all ten wickets between them to rout Wesley for 26 and steer Richmond College Galle to a thumping innings and 121 runs win with two overs to spare in their ‘Singer Cup’ Under 19 inter-schools cricket match at Campbell Park yesterday. The duration of Wesley’s second innings lasted more than their entire total of 26 for 26.4 overs. They were dismissed for 147 in their first innings in reply to Richmond’s 294/7 declared.

Apart from capturing six wickets for eight runs in the Wesley second innings left-hand all-rounder Theekshana also scored 83 runs with the bat. Sudheera also came up with a similar performance scoring 65 and capturing 10 wickets in the match with his left-arm leg spin. S. Thomas’ College Bandarawela was the other school to win beating Uva College Badulla by an innings at Bandarawela.


+At Campbell Park: Richmond won by inns & 121 runs.

Richmond: 294/6 decl. (171/5 o/n) in 77.3 overs (Avindu Theekshana 83, Dilum Sudheera 65, Dhananjaya Lakshan 42, Duvin Kalansooriya 39 n.o., Kamindu Mendis 35, Movin Subasinghe 6/96)

Wesley: 147 in 49.5 overs (Tharinda Bakmeewewa 38, Shenal Dangalla 21, Dilum Sudheera 6/26, Dhananjaya Lakshan 3/28) and 26 in 26.4 overs (Avindu Theekshana 6/8, Dilum Sudheera 4/18)

+At Bandarawela: S. Thomas’ Bandarawela won by inns & 125 runs.

S. Thomas’ Bandarawela: 322 (Wimanga Jayakodi 62, Ravindu Ratnayake 41, Thevin Amarasinghe 41, Sisara Kavinda 29, S. Chamith 3/36)

Uva College: 49 (N. Monelka 20, Thevin Amarasinghe 5/15, Gayantha Silva 2/6, Ravindu Ratnayake 2/14) and 148 (Leon Boniwenche 54, Ravindu Ratnayake 2/7, Thevin Amarasinghe 2/28, Savith Basnayake 2/35, Gayantha Silva 2/36)


Match will be continued today on day two.

+At Godigamuwa: Loyola Negombo: 245 in 59.5 overs (Shaffan Ahamed 74, Shaun Shenil 40, Suneth Piyumantha 35, D. Danicius 4/47, Monick Nithushan 3/53, G. Ratheeshan 3/63)

St. Patrick’s Jaffna: 94/3 at close in 34.3 overs (D. Dilakshan 30 n.o., D.R. Biercrick 25) - (YK)