India to rest key players Rohit Sharma set to lead | Sunday Observer

India to rest key players Rohit Sharma set to lead

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

NEW DELHI: At least five top Indian cricketers, including captain Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya, will be rested for the tri-series in Sri Lanka, Indian cricket board (BCCI) sources told TOI on Friday.

Rohit Sharma will lead the team in Kohli’s absence. As reported earlier, a few young faces will be a part of the ODI team.

Keeping in mind the hectic South Africa series, which is due to get over on Saturday, the players and BCCI have mutually agreed to rest these top cricketers for the series. “What is the point of sending these cricketers after such a hectic South African tour,” a team source said.

The Nidahas Trophy is organized by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) to celebrate the independence of the island nation. The first ever Nidahas Trophy was played in 1998 between hosts Sri Lanka, India, and New Zealand. India defeated the hosts to capture the tournament. The previous tournament was played in the 50-over-format but SLC has decided to increase the entertainment quotient by converting it to a T20I tri-series.

With the Indian Premier League (IPL) coming up in April, the BCCI may decide to rest a few of their big guns who have taken immense workload in the past few months.

The selectors will pick some new names on Sunday. With Kedar Jadhav too in the sick bay, there could be as many as six openings for the new-look Indian ODI team.

Two selectors, including chairman of the selection panel MSK Prasad, had a chat with Delhi’s wicketkeeper-batsman Rishab Pant at the Palam cricket grounds after the Vijay Hazare match between Delhi and Andhra. In all likelihood, Pant will replace Dhoni.