Tea-Cup Cycle Tour: Eleven foreign teams in action | Sunday Observer

Tea-Cup Cycle Tour: Eleven foreign teams in action

The Sri Lanka T-Cup Cycle Tour organized by Lanka Sportsreizen (LSR) the organization which promotes sports with the aim of making Sri Lanka a tourism hub among Asian countries will be worked off on May 4 in Batticaloa.

LSR commenced sporting activities 17 years ago with the Colombo Marathon which attracted many foreigners that paved the way for it to gain international recognition.

The T-Cup Cycle Tour has already attracted as many as 11 foreign teams of cyclists according to organizers of the event. The Sri Lanka cycling team and the president’s team will also compete during three days of competition commencing on May 4 from the coast of Pasikudah in Batticaloa. Once the riders set off from Pasikudah they will end their first stage at Mahiyangana inland covering a distance of 132 kilo meters.

On the second day the riders will move to Kandy covering a 90-km distance through hilly and difficult terrain that will test their endurance limits.The third and final stage will start off from Kandy to reach the Western coastal beach area in Negombo covering a distance of 128 km to the finish. In all the riders would have covered a course of 350 kilo metres.

The three stage winners, overall winner and runners up will be awarded trophies and prize money to the total of 24,235 US dollars.

The teams participating are McDonalds Downunder (Australia), Oliver’s Real Rood Racing (Australia), Team France Defence (France), KINAN Cycling Team (Japan), Team UKYO (Japan), Vino-Astana Motors (Kazakhstan), Gapyeong Team (Korea), Lapierre Asia Cycling Team (Laos), Terengganu Cycling Team (Malaysia), Go for Gold (Philippines), NEX Cycling Team (Singapore), National Team (Sri Lanka), President’s Team (Sri Lanka)