Ashan and Evon still unconquered | Sunday Observer

Ashan and Evon still unconquered

Boys and girls in the under-10 age group race on their 50cc bikes
Boys and girls in the under-10 age group race on their 50cc bikes

The eighth edition of the Walawe Super Cross 2018 which was conducted last Sunday at the Craftsman Autodrome, Sevangala became a grand success for racing driver Ashan Silva and rider Evon Biyagee Gurusinghe.

The two of them were able to retain their Walawe Super Cross titles they won last year as Silva won the Best Driver’s title while Gurusinghe went on to win the Best Rider’s award.

Silva who competed in the Group SL-GT cars up to 3500cc managed to win race No.1 and 2 comfortably and was on pole position in both races. From the word go it was Ashan Silva in front throughout the race followed by young Kushan Peiris for almost four laps but Kushan had to go out of the race when his vehicle skidded off the track making no room for him to re-enter.

Ushan Perera who was behind Kushan grabbed the opportunity and followed Ashan Silva to finish as the first runner-up.

It was interesting to see a former driver Aravinda Premadasa who held the best driver’s title for a long period competing in this class after a lapse of some years to be placed fourth in this event. The second race too was dominated by Ashan Silva as Kushan had to start from the back of the grid as he failed to complete race No.1. But Kushan pulled out of the race with mechanical problems.

Ushan Perera finished behind the winner Ashan Silva while Tyronne Hendavitharana was placed third.

In the two wheelers it was Evon Biyagee Gurusinghe who stole the limelight winning three events. He displayed great skills which thrilled an estimated 35,000 fans and faced many challenges from Lahiru Jeevantha from the Army and Shanuka Sandaruwan who hails from a family of riders. Gurusinghe who has already taken the lead at the Fox Hill Super Cross last month to be the National Champion for the year 2018 started well in Group STD/Mod 175 up to 250cc 4/T & 100 to 125cc 2/T. He faced the starter along with former champion Gayan Sandaruwan and top riders Madura Peiris, Buddhika Kasun, Ishan Dassanayake and Sameera Premaratne.

Gurusinghe got off to a flying start and never left room for other riders to beat him until the finish. The main challenge came from Madura Peiris and Gayan Sandaruwan but their efforts were not sufficient to beat Gurusinghe. Madura and Gayan finished second and third.

The race No. 2 also saw Gurusinghe taking off in style making no room for others to follow for nearly four laps. He was well ahead of the others and it became a battle for the second and third positions between Gayan Sandaruwan and Buddhika Kasun Silva who featured in a ding-dong race giving the spectators real value for their money.

These two victories for Gurusinghe brought him the Best Rider’s Award for a second successive year.

The other rider to excel on this day was none other than the Super Motard rider Imal Manchanayake riding in the Group SM - Super Motard Class 250 up to 750cc and the Open race 125 to 500cc and over 250 to 750cc category.

He went on to register victories in both events to receive the Ananda Wedisinghe Memorial Trophy for the Beat Super Motard Rider for the year 2018.

In the SL-N Ford Laser/Mazda 1500cc and Group SL-H up to 1618cc Honda class it was young Kushan Peiris who proved his dominance by winning both events as he dominated the veterans.The other two young drivers Shenal Gunawardene and Zakir Wahab ensured another veteran Upulwan Serasinghe to lose out.

Son of former racing driver, Dhammika Peiris and brother Kushan Peiris also came up with a good win in the opening event of the day in the Group SL-E Cars up to 1000cc- Nissan March ahead of MMA Jayanith and Dulip Palliyaguru.

Devin Serasinghe won the Group SL-E Ford Laser/Mazda 1300cc beating the experienced Induwara Senadeera and Shami Wagodapola.

Group J - MX Motorcycles up to 50cc for under under-10 was won by Esala Madanayake with Mithmal Sudasinghe and N. Imasha following. The most interesting of this event was the participation of two sisters from DS Senanyake Vidyalaya Anuradhapura, six year old Thayushi Sri Wickrama and eight year old Methushi Sri Wickrama. They raced against the opposite sex and bravely completed the race in great style.