Chamika’s all-round show brings BMS campus title | Sunday Observer

Chamika’s all-round show brings BMS campus title

The champion BMS team with the Red Bull trophy
The champion BMS team with the Red Bull trophy

Chamika Karunarathna’s all-round performances with three wickets and an unbeaten 64 runs propelled Business Management School to the title of the Red Bull Campus Cricket National Final 2018 when they beat Saegis Campus by six runs in the final concluded yesterday at Colts Ground.

After batting first BMS scored 179 runs in the 20 overs as Chamika Karunaratne played well with Sri Lanka youth player Hasitha Boyagoda who scored 30 runs.

In reply Saegis Campus scored 173 runs losing seven wickets as Shahan Arachige scored 57 runs along with Thikshala de Silva who also contributed 40 runs respectively.

The most anticipated university event of the year, Red Bull Campus Cricket National Finals 2018 kicked off in Sri Lanka on the 19th of June and concluded with an exciting final yesterday.

Easily emerging as the best batsman was Sahan Arachchige from Saegis who collectively scored 139 runs in four matches.

His incredible batting performance was closely followed by Sachin Jayawardena from ESOFT, who scored the most sixes in the tournament with Avishka Fernando from ICBT.

CIM’s Nipun Haggala must be further commended for making the highest score of 78 runs.

Thikshila de Silva from Saegis emerged as the best bowler by knocking off 10 wickets in four matches, conceding a mere 78 runs. Yohan Gunawardena from APIIT must be commended for his splendid bowling performance, taking the most wickets in an innings, which was the only five-wicket haul the tournament saw this year. Both Yohan Gunawardena and KDU’s Saranga Fernando posted hat-tricks for their respective teams. The third best bowler of the

tournament, Sandun Weerakkody from Seagis,was undoubtedly the best all-rounder of the tournament, scoring 79 runs and taking eight wickets across four matches.

Chamika Karunarathne from BMS earned the Man of the Match title for the nail-biting final game between BMS and Saegis.

BMS will go on to battle it out at the Red Bull Campus Cricket World Finals this September in Sri Lanka.