Liyanage new Secretary of Kandy SC | Sunday Observer

Liyanage new Secretary of Kandy SC

Kandy Sports Club celebrated its 144th Annual General Meeting at the Club Auditorium in a packed house of invited rugby players who became Champions in the League, Knock-outs and Sevens while the new Secretary in S. Liyanage formerly of Trinity College and now a top man of Ceylinco Insurance.

Rugby legend Dharmasiri Madugalle, the oldest living Kandy Sports Club player and captain will continue in the Patron’s position. Madu, was a versatile sportsman and a dedicated rugby promoter. He was an outstanding wing-three-quarter during his days and learnt his rugger at Trinity College.

He first played rugby for his school in the early 1950s and led the school team in 1953. Under his leadership Trinity won the Bradby Shield 13-0 the first leg at Bogamabara (2 goals and 1 try) and the second leg at Longden Place 3-0 (1 penalty).

His 1953 squad comprised players of the calibre of R.H.. Ratwatte, K. Boteju, R. Adihetty (Vice Captain), L. Vithane, A. Bandaranayake, C. Unamboowe, P. Weerasiri, C. Nikatenne, A. Nonis, L. Stewart, Maurice Perera, P. Ramanathan, R. Aluwihare, B. Jacob, G. Shockman, R.Alwuihare, L. Geddes, F. Omar, Quinetin Israel, Mahinda Ratwatte and B.A. Nonis.

He led the Trinity athletics team in 1951 and 1952, and in 1952 was placed second in the Public Schools 120 yards hurdles and Long Jump. In the same year he won the De Soysa Challenge Cup as the best senior athlete.

He was in the Kandy Sports Club’s first Clifford Cup final team in 1954 and also in the following year 1955. He was a member of the Sri Lanka team from 1955 to 1965. In 1964 at the age of 24 years, he led Kandy Sports Club. By profession he was a reputed planter and later served as the Manager Tea Museum.

It must be reiterated that during the past 18 years of the presidency by Dr. Sarath Kapuwatte the club not only won for the first time in its history the Clifford Cup in 1992 but thereafter maintained the winning streak for two decades.

Sad to say the last president resigned before time and some of his close committee members are not in this time. M. Weerasinghe is the president while the vice presidents are L. Wijesuriya, and A. Nanayakkara. The Treasure is A. Lapir and the rugby captain is Richard Dharmapala with Sean Wijesinghe as coach along with Fazil Marija while Kapila Silva functions as manager.