New rugby chief Lasitha Gunaratne pledges a new era | Sunday Observer

New rugby chief Lasitha Gunaratne pledges a new era

Lasitha Gunaratne
Lasitha Gunaratne

Lasitha Gunaratne was elected as the new president of Sri Lanka Rugby last evening and pledged to work closely with the Sports Ministry, Education Ministry and the Schools Rugby Football Association in a bid to promote Age Group rugby which he said was the way forward.

He said due emphasis will be made on the importance of qualified coaches, referees and fitness trainers among other matters.

“I am here to serve rugby and its betterment”, he declared.

President: Lasitha Gunaratne

Deputy President: Rizly Illyas

Vice Presidents: Nazim Mohamed, Susantha Mendis

Secretary: Thusitha Peiris

Treasurer: Dinesh Perera

Council members: Roshan Deen, Fazal Mohamed, Jude Pillai, Tuan Dole, Brig. Sunil Ranasinghe, Maj. Gen. Sathyapriya Liyanage, Shamrath Fernando and Thilandeni Warakagoda