Star-studded Sarasaviya Festival | Sunday Observer

Star-studded Sarasaviya Festival

[Left] Best Actress 2016 - Pooja Umashankar [Right] Best Actor 2016 - Dasun Pathirana

The 34th Cargills Sarasaviya Film Festival was held on a grand scale at the BMICH on Friday, August 3 amid a large and distinguished audience.

The award for Best Actor for 2016 went to Dasun Pathirana and Best Actress for 2016 to Pooja Umashankar who received their awards from Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Samanali Fonseka was adjudged the Best Actress for 2017 and Saumya Liyanage was Best Actor for 2017. Boodee Keerthisena accepted the award on behalf of Liyanage.

Media and Finance Minister Mangala Samaraweera, Deputy Minister Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Managing Director of Cargills Ranjit Page, ANCL Chairman Krishantha Prasad Cooray, Editorial Director Chandrasiri Seneviratne and Sarasaviya Editor Aruna Gunaratne were present.

The Cargills Sarasaviya Film Awards was organised by Sarasaviya, the Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Limited’s cinema weekly, with Cargills, Sri Lanka’s leading retail and FMCG company.

Pictured here are some of the highlights of the event.


Pix: Chinthaka Kumarasinghe