SriLankan Airlines retain shuttle title | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

SriLankan Airlines retain shuttle title

Defending Champion, SriLankan Airlines had to fight every inch of the way to beat Walkers Tours (3/2), as they retained the Travel Trade Sports Club Badminton Open Team Championship 2018, at the 23rd edition of the tournament concluded at St. Thomas’ College Indoor Sports Complex last Sunday.

The final that lasted for over 100 minutes, saw SriLankan Airlines draw first blood, winning the Men’s Singles and the Men’s Doubles. Walkers Tours fought back well and equalized, winning the Women’s Singles and the Women’s Doubles.

SriLankan Airlines retained the Veterans Team Championship too with Men Over 40 and Women Over 35, beating Cinnamon Lakeside 2/0.

Results; Veterans Team Championship:

Semi Finals: SriLankan Airlines beat Cinnamon Grand ‘A’ 2/0; Cinnamon Lakeside beat Walkers Tours 2/0.

Final: SriLankan Airlines beat Cinnamon Lakeside 2/0

Men’s Singles: Dayantha Fernando (SriLankan) beat Anura Hewage 21/7, 21/14

Men’s Doubles: CWM Peter/Mahesh Jayasinghe (SriLankan) beat Niranjan Karunatillake /UV Nishantha, 21/14, 21/17.

Special Awards: Most Outstanding Player (Men): Dayantha Fernando (SriLankan);

Most Outstanding Player (Women): Shalika Jayawardena (Club Hotel Dolphin, Waikkala)

Open Team Championships:

Semi-Finals: SriLankan Airlines beat Mermaid Hotel & Club, Kalutara, 3/0; Walkers Tours beat Cinnamon Grand ‘A’, 3/2.

Final: SriLankan Airlines beat Walkers Tours, 3/2

Men’s Singles: Dasitha Dahanayake (Sri Lankan) beat Richinda Fernando (Walkers) 21/6, 21/5;

Men’s Doubles: Dayantha Fernando/Nirosh Silva (SriLankan) beat Chandika Jayasinghe/Richinda Fernando (Walkers) 21/8, 21/9

Women’s Singles: Kavisha Narangoda (Walkers) beat Niyomi Bakmeedeniya (SriLankan), 21/8, 21/7

Women’s Double: Kavisha Narangoda/Nalika Abeysuriya (Walkers) beat Niyomi Bakmeedeniya/Shalini Hewakoppara (SriLankan), 21/18, 21/16;

Mixed Doubles: Nirosh Silva/Shalini Hewakoppara (SriLankan) beat Prabath Harshakumar/Shivanthi Kotage (Walkers) 21/13, 17/21, 21/8.

Special Awards:

Most Promising Player Men: NV Dias (Mermaid Hotel & Club, Kalutara)

Most Outstanding Player Women: Kavisha Narangoda (WalkersTours)

Most outstanding Player Men: Dasitha Dahanayake (SriLankan Airlines)