Saluting Ibbagamuwa Central College outstanding past pupils | Sunday Observer

Saluting Ibbagamuwa Central College outstanding past pupils

‘Ibbagamuwa Past Pupils’ Abhinandana - 2018’, the awards ceremony to appreciate outstanding past pupils of Ibbagamuwa Central College (which is renowned nationally and internationally) was held for the third time recently at the Salute Reception Hall of Boyagane Sri Lanka Army camp.

The ceremony was held under the patronage of the Vice Chancellor of Wayamba University, Prof E.M.P. Ekanayake, Prof Samitha Manawadu, a past pupil, and the Principal of Ibbagamuwa Central College Nirodha Abeywickrema.

The ‘Nidahas Sahudra Sandanaya’ which is a past pupils’ association of Ibbagamuwa Central has organized this ceremony where outstanding past students who have excelled in their professions, thus bringing glory to the College as well as the nation were honored by the College.

Senior Medical Specialist Dr. A.R.W.M.R.S. Bandaranayake was awarded for the service rendered towards the field of medicine.

The others who were presented awards are:

The former director of Ministry of Irrigation and Water Resources and Additional Secretary of the Ministry of Transport, D.M. Abeyrathne, field of Civil Engineering

The Secretary for the North Eastern Province, sports and youth affairs, cooperate development, land and trade, electricity and energy, arts and culture, Ministry of Information Technology, A.K.W.W.M.N.K. Weerasekara, for the field of Administration.

Former Additional Commissioner of Examinations and Deputy Director General for Education and chief instructor, Ministry of Education U.B. Herath, for the field of Education.

Director, Internet and Communication section, University of Peradeniya, Senior Lecturer, Dr. Nimal Rathnayake, for the field of Electricity and Electronics.

Professor of Physics, Belo University, United States, Prof. Wickrema M. Ariyarathna for the field of Research and Innovations.

Director, Bahtalagoda Rice Research and Development Institute Dr. D.M.J.B. Senanayake for the field of Agriculture and Research.

Deputy Director, Pulmude Mineral Sands Ltd and former Manager S.A. Nanadewa, for the field of Industry & Technology.

Gold Winner of South Asian Athletic Games (1997) outstanding Athlete and the Instructor of Sports of Athletic Academy, United Arab Emiratis S.U.J. Rajapakshe for the field of Sports.

Proprietor, Hallo Cab Private Ltd, Nirosh Enterprises, Sea Food distributors, transportation services, and Nirosh Can and Fish Company G.L. Nirosh Lankathilake for the field of Entrepreneurship

Major General Ashoka Padeniya, who has won many awards, such as, medal for Service of Excellence, Medal of Honoor for Supreme Sacrifice, for the field of Security.

Former News Director, Sirasa Media and Senior Media Director to the President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, Dharmasri Bandara Ekanayake for the field of Arts and Media.

Pictured are special moments of the event.