State Literary Awards: Wordsmiths’ crowning moment | Sunday Observer

State Literary Awards: Wordsmiths’ crowning moment

The State Literary Awards ceremony was held on September 11, at the BMICH, under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena, with the participation of Higher Education and Cultural Affairs Minister Dr. Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe.

Winners were chosen from a large number of authors of creative and academic or research work published in 2017, in any of the three languages, Sinhala, Tamil and English. These publications included originals as well as translations of novels, short stories, poetry, plays, lyrics, and literature for youth, literature for children and science fiction. In addition, originals and translations of academic and research work on varied subjects including the humanities and social sciences and translations of related genres were evaluated and awarded for the best work.

Many authors received awards at the ceremony for their contribution to the advancement of Literature in Sri Lanka in 2017. Prof. K.N.O Dharmadasa, M. Ponnambalam and Prof. Gananath Obeyesekere were presented with the Sahityaratna Lifetime Award for their invaluable service towards the advancement of literature in the Sinhala, Tamil and English languages, by the President.

Prof. Nalinika Obeysekere, daughter of Prof. Gananath Obeyesekere, received the award on behalf of her father. The awards, organised by the State Literary Advisory Board, Art Council of Sri Lanka, and Higher Education and Cultural Affairs Ministry, were held for the 61st time.

The literary books which won awards were also presented to the President. Higher Education and Cultural Affairs Minister Wijeyedasa Rajapakshe, Ministry Secretary J.J. Rathnasiri, Cultural Affairs Director Anusha Gokula Fernando and Professor Samantha Herath of the State Literary Advisory Board were present at the event.