Kandy News | Sunday Observer

Kandy News

Kandy SC take on Air Force

Kandy Sports Club the defending league rugby champions have started their practices under the watchful eyes of Sean Wijesinghe and Fazil Marija to build a good team. They are expected to play their first game between November 9 and 11 against Air Force at Ratmalana.

Last season Kandy SC scored a comprehensive victory over the Airmen. This time too they are hoping to field a good, trophy winning team.

KSC is one of the most successful clubs in the Sri Lanka Rugby Championship, winning the league title 19 times, since 1994.

The tournament starts in November and will end in February 2019. Kandy SC team came to prominence in 1992 and from that year they have been winning trophies in the league and knockouts.

Rajan trophy for Nallur, Panduwasnuwara

Nallur Rotary Club and Panduwasnuwara Rotract Club won the 16th TRR Rajan softball cricket tournament 2018, organized by the Kandy Rotary Club. In the Rotary tournament Nallur Rotary Club were able to down Panduwasnuwara Rotary Club. Then in the Rotract tournament Panduwasuwara Rotract Club defeated Sri Jayewardenepura University Rotract Club.

The tournament was held at the Provincial Council grounds Digana last Saturday under the patronage of District Governor of Rotary Dushan Zoza a former Josephian cricket captain who handed over the TRR Rajan memorial trophy.

Proboda leads Vidyartha

Isuru Proboda will be leading Vidyartha College in the 2018/19 inter-school cricket season and they are expected to play their first match against home town school St. Anthony’s College on September 21 and 22. They have played three warm-up games against Trinity College, Dharmaraja College and St. Annes College. They are once again coached by for Antonian cricketer Chamika Siriwardene who did a superb job last season.

Seethadevi hockey champs

Seethadevi Girls College who are dominating in hockey due to superb caching of veteran A. Ashroff, were able to win the Girls championship at the Sri Lanka Schools Hockey Association inter-school under-16 ‘A’ division hockey tournament. In the final against Holy Family Convent Wennpuwa, the game ended in a one all draw. The penalty shootout was ordered and Seethadevi girls won by 4 goals to 3. Their goalkeeper Harsangi Ranmali, was awarded the best goal keeper’s award.

Senarath chairman KDCA tournament committee

Former Dharmaraja College cricketer, Senarath Jayasundara comes in as the new Tournament committee Chairman of the Kandy District Cricket Association. He was appointed at the last committee meeting and took over from Chandra Mawattege. Senarath is a keen follower of cricket, played for the Rajans from 1972 to 1974.

A big start by St. Sylvester’s

For the first t time in the island St. Sylvester’s College launched a “Sport for all” programme on September 10 at their mini College ground at Asgirya. It was due to the great efforts of the sporting chief minister of Central province Sarath Ekanayaka.

Trinity’s ruggerites back tomorrow

Trinity College ruggerites who were in New Zeeland for 42 days will return tomorrow (Monday). They were on tour mainly to learn skills. It was a development programme hosted by the Wellington Rugby Football Union. The 22 players, on tour were aged between 15 and 18 years. They also attended strength, conditioning, nutrition, injury management and mental skills workshops.

Old Trinitians AGM

Old Trinitians SC AGM will take place on September 29 at the club house. This club which is over thirty years old. They are involved in cricket, hockey, athletics cue sport and have rugby tournaments.