Sports news from Kandy | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

Sports news from Kandy

Kandy pick strong schools side

Kandy has picked a strong rugby squad are under the watchful eyes of coaches Ananda Kasthuriaarachchi a veteran in the field, Dinesh Gamage (the Kingswood head coach) and Sumeda Malawana, (Vidyartha head coach). St. Anthony’s College’s Mohammed Shabeer will lead the side.

The squad is: Pravinda Wijethilaka, Vishwa Ranaraja, Awishka Sheikh, Naween Rajaratnam (Trinity) Tharindu Waligampala, Rashmika Chandraratna, Janitha Ratnayake, Ilham Jaleel, Milan Weerasinghe, Tuan Dilshan (Kingswood), R.S. Pathirane (St. Sylvester’s), Manuka Hiyarapitiya (Dharmaraja) , Ishara Liyanage, Suhail Waseem, Mohammed Shabeer, Janidu Himsara, Kavishka Jayasuriya, Ruvan Weerasinghe (St.Anthony’s), Mohammed Akeel, K.R. Bandara, J. Wikumsekara, K.M. Waligamage (Sri Sumangala), T. R. Ratnayake, K.L. Bandara, C.D. Kotagoda, M.S. Kalugampitiya, T.S. Umayanga, P.U. Jayakody, N.K. Bandara (Vidyartha) and Lahiru Daulagala, Lahiru Herath, Kelum Madushan, Malitha Wijesundara, Himanka Dhananjaya.

Donations by Old Trinitians

The former Branch Manger of HSBC Kandy handed over a cheque for Rs. 300,000 to the president of the Trinity College Cricket Foundation Nilantha Ratnayake. This contribution is from the old boys attached to HSBC for the promotion of cricket. Trinity enjoys all the facilities in the sport. They have indoor nets, a bowling machine and a stadium. They have produced some top teams and players in the past.

Katugastota Sri Rahula champs

Sri Rahula College gave a good display of rugby to win the All Island under-16 division II inter-school rugby championship played at Kurunegala. It was a great effort by this school with limited facilities to win and make the home town proud. Sri Rahula College defeated Sri Sumangala College Panadura in the final by 17 points to 7. In the semis they beat Sarasavi Uyana MV 21-0 and in the quarters beat Dutugemunu MV Buttala 14-10.

Ahalaya and Amrith does well

The famous two golfers Ahalya Rajan and Amrith de Soysa did well to win the women’s and men’s championship at the 11th Victoria golf tournament which was held recently at Victoria Golf and Country Resort in Digana.

Kingswood wins

Kingswood College who are under the directorship of Malcolm Perera, won the Vidyartha College OBA Cricket Sixes Tournament, played last Sunday at the Police ground.