Sports news from Kandy | Sunday Observer

Sports news from Kandy

Kandy SC ready for new season

The defending inter club league champions Kandy SC are in top gear for the new domestic rugby season.

Since 1994 Kandy SC has won the league 19 times. This time eight teams will be competing and the tournament will kick off on November 9 to end on December 23 with the completion of the first round.

The first round matches for Kandy SC are: November 10 vs Air Force SC (Ratmalana), 18 vs Police SC (Nittawela), 24 vs Army SC (Racecourse 6/30 pm), December 2 vs CR & FC (Nittawela), 9 vs CH & FC (Nittawela), 16 vs Havelock SC (Nittawela) and 22 vs Navy SC (Welisara).

Kingswood wins Sixes

Kingswood College who are under the directorship of Malcolm Perera, won the Vidyartha College OBA six- a- side cricket tournament 2018, played last Sunday at the Police ground.

Schools like Trinity, St. Anthony’s, Vidyartha, St. Sylvester’s, Sri Rahula, Dharmaraja, Sri Sumangala, and St. Thomas’ Matale participated. In the semis St. Sylvester’s beat St. Anthony’s and Kingswood beat Vidyartha. In the final Kingswood beat St. Sylvester’s. Dharshana Wickremasinghe of Kingwood was the player of the tournament. The best batsman’s award went to Harshana Wickremasinghe while the best fielder was Achal Bogodawatte both from the champion team and the best bowler Manoharan Pavithan from St .Sylvester’s.

Central Province wins 13 golds

At the 44th National Sports Festival the Central Province judo team emerged champions and pocketed 13 gold medals while R.C.N. Dharmawardena was the best player in the men’s segment. The gold winners (men’s) were M.M.K.I. Marasinghe, K.L.S.M. Suraweera, H.M.M.B Senarathne, R.C.W. Dharmawardene, N.G.R. Pushpa Kuamra, S.A.N.I. Bandara, B.G.B.K Bajala, R.Y.L. Ratnayake, R.C.N. Dharmawardena while in the women’s segment the winners were B.G.N.K. Bandara, H.R.S. Hathurusinghe, D.G.W.S. Karunarathna and W.G.L.D. Jayawardena,

Hayleys Advants champs

Hayleys Advants 3PL Plus Central Logistic hub emerged as the champions at the Amaya Hills 10th Super Six a side Mercantile softball cricket tournament held on Sunday at the Asgiriya Stadium. The second place went to Hayley Fabrics.

The man of the tournament was Sanath Aponsu of Hayleys Advantis 3PL, best batsman S. A. Prakash (Hayleys Advantis 3PL) and best bowler Lahiru Mihiran (Hayleys Fabrics).

Five Kandy school products benefited At the All Island School Games 64 athletes received cash awards out of which five were from Kandy schools. They were M. Althaf (carom-St. Sylvester’s), S.M.S.B. Seneviratne (rugby-Kingswood), B.J. Wijewickrema (weight-lifting-Trinity), H.J.H. Abeysinghe (chess-Mahamaya), and D.A.D Perera (swimming-Hillwood)

Trustees of OTSC

Old Trinitians Sports Club (OTSC) has appointed three top past sportsmen as their trustees. One is Nahil Wijesooriya the man who helped to put up the club house, Mohan Samarakoon and Nico de Silva both past presidents, rugby players and ex-planters.

Roshan to coach Sylvester’s

Kandy Sports Club scrum-half and captain Roshan Weeraratne is the new rugby coach of St. Sylvester’s College according to U.S.K. Kodithuwakku the Sylvestrians OBA sports body president. The school started rugby in 1954 and much is expected from Weeraratne.