Air Force emerge women’s football champions | Sunday Observer

Air Force emerge women’s football champions

Air Force SC crushed Police SC by five goals to nil to emerge the champions of the Women’s Division One Football Championship played at Welisara on October 27.

Kanchana Wiranga (17th minute), Radhika Gunasekara (42nd, 66th minutes), Buddhika Damayanthi (64th minute) and Chalani Ekanayake (89th minute) scored the goals for Air Force in the first match of this division.

Navy SC and Army SC ended their game in this championship in a 1-1 draw. Praveen Perera scored for Navy while ILEK Liyanage scored for Army. Navy SC were awarded the runners-up trophy at the Awards Ceremony that was held in the same evening.

Army SC finished in third place while Police SC were placed fourth.

Uma Priyadarshani of Army SC was presented the best player of the tournament and Ishanka Yohani Weerasinghe was adjudged as the best goal keeper.

Anura de Silva, president of FFSL was the Chief Guest at the awards ceremony.