McLarens crowned overall badminton champions | Sunday Observer

McLarens crowned overall badminton champions

McLarens overall champion players with the presidentof the Mercantile Badminton Association Roshan Fernando, Minister of SportsFaiszer Musthapha and Managing Director, Flex Sportsware Sanjeewa Akuratiya.    The Best Players (over 50) were EM Chandrathilake - McLarens Holdings, Kaushali Dissanayake – McLarens Holdings, Men’s veterans C3 Mahesh Fernando - Sri Lankan Airlines, Men’s Veterans C2 Thushan Weerasuriya – Dialog Axiata, Men’s Veterans C1 Lalin Yatawara - McLarens Holdings, Men’s Veteran’s B Division Nirosha Wijekoon - Asia Securities, Men’s veterans A Division Pradeep Welagedara - McLarens Holdings, Men’s H4 Division Shalinka De Silva - Carsons, Men’s H3 Division Poorna Munasinghe - GSK, Men’s H2 Division Shan Perera - DFCC Bank, Men’s H1 Division Kasun Pigera - A & E, Men’s G2 Division Charith Madujaya – Laugfs Holdings, Men’s G1 Division Ranil Rohan - Peoples Leasing, Men’s F Division Isuru Fernando – Expo Lanka, Women’s E2 Division Inuri Jayasinghe – MAS Holdings, Women’s E1 Division Tharini Handagama – MAS Holdings, Men’s E Division Yohan Alahakoon - Union Bank, Women’s D Division Sanara de Silva – Millennium IT, Men’s D Division Anjana Madushanka - MAS Holdings, Women’s C Division Subodha Dahanayake – Akbar Brothers, Men’s C Division Suranjan Ratwatta – National Development Bank, Women’s B Division Hasini Jayasinghe – McLarens Holdings, Men’s B Division Subash Janaka - McLarens Holdings, Women’s A Division Thilini Hendahewa - McLarens Holdings, Men’s A Division Sachin Dias - McLarens Holdings     

McLarens was crowned the overall champions at the 35th inter-firm badminton tournament organized by the Mercantile Badminton Association.

Both the men and women of McLarens Holdings won the Masters (Over 50) MBA Challenge trophies. The Men’s Veterans C3 was won by SriLankan Airlines while the C2 was won by Dialog Axiata PLC and the C1 by McLarens.

The Men’s Veterans “B” Division was won by Asia Securities while the A division Championship for the Lanka Bell Trophy was won once again by McLarens. The Men’s H4 Division Ceylinco General Challenge Trophy was won by Carsons/Luxury Brands while the MKG Challenge Trophy for the Men’s H3 Division went to Glaxco and the H2 Division to DFCC Bank.

The Mahesh Makalanda and Samantha Jayawardena Trophy for the Men’s H1 Division went home with A&E. Laugfs Holdings won the Men’s G2 while the Men’s F Division was won by Expo Lanka. In the women’s tournament, the Douglas and Sons Challenge Trophy for the Women’s E2 Division and the Janaka Gamage Challenge Trophy for the E1 Division was won by MAS while the Men’s trophy in the same division went to Union Bank PLC. The Fine Enterprise Challenge Trophy for women’s D Division went to Millennium IT and the C Division was won by Akbar Brothers. The B Division Shiranthi Meddegoda Challenge trophies for men and women also went to McLarens while the P.Silvalingam Challenge Trophy for the A Division was won by McLarens.

The Mixed A Division went to MAS while McLarens won the B Division Mixed and the C Division was won by National Development Bank. Many of the individual best player awards also went to players from McLarens Holdings resulting in the final Overall Championship also being awarded to them.