McLarens emerge Overall Champions | Sunday Observer

McLarens emerge Overall Champions

McLarens’ shuttlers illustrated total domination at the two month long 35th Inter-Firm Team Badminton Championships 2018, to emerge overall champions with a total team score of 328 points.

Having fought their way into being overall champions in 2016 and 2017, this year’s win shattered that benchmark and set an even more admirable one when the team scooped up nine championships across 32 divisions. This has been the highest number of championships won by any team at a MBA tournament. The Inter-Firm Championships had 97 companies and 224 teams competing across 32 divisions. The championships won include the Men’s and Women’s A Division, Men’s and Women’s B Divisions, Men’s Veterans A Division, Women’s Veterans, Mixed B Division, Men’s Masters and Men’s Veterans C Division.

In addition to this outstanding achievement, the teams managed to secure other divisional podium finishes. The Mixed A and B Divisions and Men’s B Division became runners-up, Men’s A Division and Mixed C Division finished in third place while the Mixed A Division, Men’s Veterans and Women’s A Division took fourth place.

There were also notable outstanding performances by individuals whose tactful and experienced skills played a monumental role in bringing home the championships. Accolades were given to Sachin Dias, Thilini Hendahewa, Subash J. de Silva, Naduni Prabashini, Pradeep Welageadra, Kaushali Dissanayake, Lalin Yatawara, E.M. Chandrathileke and Dulshan Alahakone for their brilliant performances.