Percy Jackson and the Olympians | Sunday Observer

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

First Prize

Percy Jackson and the Olympians is one of my favourite book series.

It is written by Rick Riordan and was first published by Hyperion in 2005. The series consists of five books titled The Lightening Thief, The Sea of Monsters, The Titan’s Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth and The Last Olympian.

These books are about the Greek gods Zeus, Poseidon, Hades and Hermes. They fall in love with mortals and have children who become half bloods. They travel to Camp Half Blood for survival training. The main characters in the series are Percy Jackson who is the son of Poseidon, the God of the Sea, Annabeth Chase who is the daughter of Athena, the Goddess of Wisdom and Battle, and Grover Underwood the Satyr who is half goat, half human.

Their quest begins with a prophesy by an oracle about Percy and his enemy Luke. They fight against Medusa and other Greek mythological demons and the evil Titan named Kronos to prevent the destruction of Olympus. The Percy Jackson series consists of incredible books that are thrilling, funny and clever.


Chamathka De Silva,

Grade 7,

Holy Family Convent,