Architects annual sessions from Feb 20-24 | Sunday Observer

Architects annual sessions from Feb 20-24

D. H. Wijewardene
D. H. Wijewardene

The 37th annual sessions of the Sri Lanka Institute of Architects (SLIA) will be held from February 20-24 at the BMICH, comprising a series of events including the most prominent event ‘A’19 - Members’ Work and Trade Exhibition’ under this year’s ‘theme – ‘Emergence: Entrepreneurial Architect’.

The signing of the Memoranda of Understanding between SLIA and the sponsors for the sessions of 2018-2019 was held at the Hotel Galadari on December 4.

‘A’19 - The Exhibition’, followed by a virtual reality web, where the Trade & Architects will be on a mutual electronic forum with their products and services presented in this legendary Sri Lankan Exhibition of Architects scheduled for February 2019. ‘A’19’ will shift from the norm to a virtual e-exhibition where visitors could surf, compare, analyse – services, materials and information of all products displayed in over 275 stalls along with 130 plus Architects’ panels via internet.

This event is one of the most important events of the Annual Sessions of the Sri Lanka Institute of Architects since it has been customary to recognise the key partners of the SLIA Annual Sessions in which the following prestigious companies joined hands with SLIA to facilitate the 37th Annual Session held in February 2019.

Holding on to the ‘top spot’ for the last several years, Alumex PLC was the ‘Strategic Sponsor’ while Nippon Paint Lanka (Pvt) Ltd. teamed up with SLIA as the ‘Principal Sponsor’. Ranjanas Ceramic (Pvt) Ltd. as the ‘Associate Sponsor’ with Naveen Ceramic (Pvt) Ltd. being the ‘SLIA Members’ Event Sponsor’ and Royal Ceramic Lanka PLC, Lanka Tiles PLC and Melwire Rolling (Pvt) Ltd. signing the Memorandum of Understanding’s with SLIA as the ‘Event Sponsors’ for the Annual Session of 2018-2019.These organisations have been partners of Sri Lanka Institute of Architects for the Annual Sessions for a very long period and yet again added strength to the ‘A’19’ Exhibition along with the other events of the 37th Annual Sessions.

Office-bearers for session 2018-2019:

President Archt. D. H. Wijewardene, Past President in Council Archt. Rukshan Widyalankara, Senior Vice President Archt. Veranjan Kurukulasuriya, Vice President Archt. Russell Dandeniya, Hony. Secretary Archt. Rohana Bandara Herath, Hony. Treasurer Archt. Salinda Rathugama, Hony. Assistant Secretary Archt. Michal Fonseka and Hony. Assistant Treasurer Archt. Migara Alwis.