CDB Finance storm back to victory | Sunday Observer

CDB Finance storm back to victory

Action between CDB and DPG in the men’s D division final
Action between CDB and DPG in the men’s D division final

A strong performance in the last quarter saw CDB Finance beat David Pieris Group by 88 points to 71 in the men’s D division final of the Mercantile Services Basketball tournament played at the Air Force courts on December 1.

It was David Pieris Group (DPG) who led 38-27 at half time.

CDB became unbeaten champions in the division and scored as much as 41 points to overcome the 17 point deficit to beat DPG.

Sandun Jayanath (18), Lakshitha Fonseka (17) and Dilan Dinushka (16) scored for CDB Finance.

Scorers for DPG were Nalaka Kumarasinghe (21), Jagath Kulatunga (18) and Asanga de Silva (11).

Player of the final: Sandun Jayanath of CDB was adjudged as player of the final while Lakshitha Fonseka (CDB) was named as the most valuable player.

Commercial Credit emerge champs

Commercial Credit & Finance emerged men’s A division champions when they beat FairFirst Insurance by 72 points to 65 in the final played on the same day.

FairFirst Insurance took a slender 33-31 lead at half time.

Sameera Senerath (27) was the star performer for CC&F with his sharp shooting ability in the semi-final and final. This performance helped him to be named as the Most valuable player. Apart from him Clinton Thevakumar (10) and Arnold Thevakumar (27) did the bulk of the scoring for CC&F. However, Praneeth Udumalagala kept FairFirst in the hunt with his impeccable shooting ability until the final few minutes of the game. He scored as much as 28 points and Isuru Perera with 10 points could not keep away Commercial Credit.

Arnold Thevakumar of CC&F was named player of the final.

Jayamaha pilots SriLankan Airlines

Nigel Jayamaha came up with a superb performance to steer SriLankan Airlines ‘A’ to victory by 57 points to 50 over Standard Chartered Bank in the men’s B division final.

Standard Chartered Bank were the league table toppers but could not come up with a match winning performance against SriLankan Airlines. Incidently, this win for them has come after 13 long years.

Standard Chartered Bank (SCB) led 26-22 at half time.

SriLankan skipper Andre Jayakody once again proved his worth and carried the team to victory. He was rightfully adjudged Most Valuable Player.

Nigel Jayamaha (17), Andre Jayakody (14) and Chathun Fernando (14) were the chief scorers for the winners.

Madushanka Ratnayake (20) and Sandeepa Ratnayake (16) stood out for SCB.

DPG women take B division title

David Pieris Group toppled table leaders MAS Holdings by 46 points to 39 in the final to take the women’s B division title on December 1.

DPG led 28-19 at half time.

Premesha Fernando (17) and Tharushika Alwis (14) scored for DPG.

Natasha de Silva (12) and Taahera Cuttilan (10) scored for MAS.

Tharushika Alwis (DPG) was player of the final while Premesha Fernando (DPG) was the most valuable player.