Kandy set to lift rugby prize for 20th time | Sunday Observer

Kandy set to lift rugby prize for 20th time

Defending champions Kandy SC lived up to their reputation and finished the first round of the Dialog league rugby tournament unbeaten from all seven matches.

They even won a match against Navy that they came close to losing when they kept their cool and found a saviour in place kicker Thilina Wijesinghe who put over a final minute penalty. Such was the professionalism of Kandy that the rest of the teams don’t have.

Kandy SC will now face Air Force SC in their first second round game at the end of the first week of January at Nittawela.

Kandy SC played as a very organised team and never squandered possession as they always endeavoured to put it to good use. They played to a plan and pattern and every player knew his job well and that is what separated them from the rest of the teams.

The second best team in the League Havelocks was no where near the prowess of Kandy. They played only in patches and will need to take complete stock of themselves and their shortcomings if they are to have any hopes of winning the title which at the moment is firmly locked up in Kandy.

There is no doubt that if Kandy continue to do what they are doing under the watchful eyes of coaches Sean Wijesinghe and Fazil Marija they will lift the title for the 20th time.

Another factor in Kandy’s favour is that they have the right replacements for the job just in case players are injured.

It was in 1994 that Kandy SC, under the leadership of Indrajith Bandranayake, secured their first league championship.

Since 1994 they have won the league on 19 occasions, the highest by any club.