Parliamentary misconduct: 59 MPs named | Sunday Observer

Parliamentary misconduct: 59 MPs named

The Committee probing clashes between parliamentarians in November in its report has named 59 parliamentarians for misconduct comprising 54 UPFA MPs, four UNP MPs and 1 JVP MP.

Paving the way for the matter to be dealt legally the committee has rejected the view, “all that takes places within the chamber are covered by the Parliamentary Powers and Privileges Act”. The report states.

The Committee stated that it is essential to deal with these MPs since the Parliament or the Supreme Court could mete out punishment for offences under Parliamentary Powers and Privileges Act.

The Police Crime Division too is launching investigations on the complaints received by the Police at the time of clashes. The committee has requested the speaker to finalise the inquiries as early as possible and take legal action against the culprits. However, the report will be forwarded to the Attorney General through the Speaker to determine what action is to be taken against the MPs found fault with.

“MP Prasanna Ranaweera’s name tops the inquiry report under different charges, with MPs Johnston Fernando (UPFA) and Padma Udayashantha playing the second fiddle,” the report handed over to the speaker states.

Considering the activities which took place on November 15 the report finds MPs Dilum Amunugama and Ananda Aluthgamage responsible for breaking the Speaker’s microphone, MP, Indika Anuruddha throwing water, a dustbin and a book on the Speaker. MP Mahindananda Aluthgamage throwing a bottle of water at the Speaker, MP, Prasanna Ranaweera throwing water over the Speaker’s chair and MPs Palitha Thevarapperuma and Ranjan Ramanayake having objects similar to knives.

Based on the events that took place on November 16 the report states that MP Arundika Fernando was found fault for occupying the Speaker’s chair, MP Johnston Fernando causing damage to the microphone at the Speaker’s table, throwing a chair at the police and throwing a book, MP Prasanna Ranaweera attacking the police and throwing liquid at them, MP Niroshan Premaratne pushing the police officers and preventing them from discharging their duties and threatening them, MPs Nishantha Muthuhettigama for overturning the table and MP Padma Udayashantha for adding certain substance to water and throwing it at at MPs Gaminia Jayawickrema Perera and Vijitha Herath.

Ruling party legislators want the matter to be referred to the Attorney General rather than suspending parliamentary sittings for a specified time period.