Havies favoured but Air Force can swoop in | Sunday Observer

Havies favoured but Air Force can swoop in

Lahiru Udayanga  (Air Force captain)-Niroshan Fernando  (Havelocks captain)
Lahiru Udayanga (Air Force captain)-Niroshan Fernando (Havelocks captain)

Havelock SC warmed up well on Thursday in preparation for winning their first Trophy after a long time as they are poised to clash with giant killers Air Force SC in the final of the Dialog ‘A’ division Clifford Cup rugby tournament to be played at the Race Course ground today. Kick-off is at 4 p.m.

Havelocks seem to have peaked at the right time and to have beaten a resurgent Army SC by 60 points to 29 shows to what extent they have improved. With this kind of form they could even beat a top team like Kandy SC, as they did in their confrontation in the first round.

However, Air Force SC is not to be taken lightly as they too seem to have peaked at the right time. To have beaten a vastly improved Police SC team by 32 points to 23 takes some improvement in their pattern of play.

Therefore, a keenly contested final can be expected with both teams eagerly wanting to take hold of the Clifford Cup, which was the first plum that was on offer to the champion rugby team.

Havies possess a good combination of forwards and backs. Their forwards like Dushmantha Priyadarshana, Sharo Fernando, Senal Deelaka, Shawkat Lahir and Liston Flatney are capable of using their weight to good effect.

Their back division comprising skipper Niroshan Fernando, Chamara Dabare, Dinuk Amarasinghe and Sandun Herath along with magic man scrum half Mithun Hapugoda and full back Riza Mubarak are all capable of penetrating any defence.

But Air Force too possess a set of hard working forwards who are capable of matching their opponents man for man. Players like skipper and hooker Lahiru Udayanga, Charles Praveen, Abishek Fernando, Saraka Warella and Thilina Bandara are quick in their loose play and can pose a few problems to their opponents.

Among the back division they have Nuwan Perera, Jero Dananjaya, Surya Krishan and full back Rumesh Ramdas who are equally capable to be quick and penetrative. (TBR)


Havelock SC: Dushmantha Priyadarshana, Azmir Fagudeen, Liston Flatney, Sharo Fernando, Umesha Madushan, Senal Deelaka, Shawket Lahir, Lasindu Karunatilleke, Mithun Hapugoda, Niroshan Fernando (captain), Chamara Dabare, Dinuk Amarasinghe, Theekshana Dassanayake, Sandun Herath, Riza Mubarak, Dayan Sabar, Sandesh Jayawickrema, Faiz Abdulla, Asitha Gayashan and Chanaka Bandara

Air Force SC: Ranuka Medagedera, Lahiru Udayanga (captain), Charles Praveen, Thilina Bandara, Nilantha Jayaweera, Rumesh Wasantha, Abishel Fernando, Saraka Warella, Gayantha Iddamalgoda, Ishara Madhushan, Ramindu Padmasanka, Jero Dananjaya, Surya Krishan, Kaushal Manupriya, Rumesh Ramdas, Nuwan Perera and Charith Seneviratne