LETTER: Sri Lanka officials exposed ahead of World Cup | Sunday Observer

LETTER: Sri Lanka officials exposed ahead of World Cup

Sri Lanka has panicked ahead of the World Cup and instead of focusing on the best 15 wants to add another four players which the ICC is not likely to allow or set a precedent.

It seems Sri Lankan administrators of the past, present and future after playing politics, backstabbing and squabbling have now woken up and realized the World Cup is on and don’t know whom to select. The reason being no one was entrusted with eyeing players for the big event.

Like it is with many things in this country there was no planning and no thought was given to the World Cup ahead in advance as those who should have seen to it that it is their duty to decide on the World Cup or prepare the road ahead, were involved in their individual survival or how to get into Sri Lanka Cricket to serve themselves.

As a regular reader of the Sunday Observer I am now making a fervent request that the following 15 players be highlighted in the newspaper as the ones who can stake claims to the World Cup.

Sri Lanka is not going to win the World Cup but at least the team can compete with the following players. The ball is now in the selectors’ court to make the final ruling either accepting or rejecting. They have their “favourites”.

‘Sri Lanka First Fifteen squad’: Batsmen: Angelo Mathews (captain), Niroshan Dickwella, Dhanushka Gunatilleke, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera (subject to fitness)

All-rounders: Isuru Udana, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera

Bowlers: Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Jeffrey Vandersay

‘Sri Lanka Second Fifteen squad’: Batsmen: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Upul Tharanga, Angelo Perera, Sadeera Samarawickrewma, Oshada Fernando

All-rounders: Milinda Siriwardena, Sachitra Senanayake, Jeewan Mendis, Lahiru Madushanka

Bowlers: Lasith Malinga, Asitha Fernando, Mohamed Shiraz, Seekkuge Prasanna, Malinda Pushpakumara

Ray Perera