Maheswaran elected for twelfth year | Sunday Observer

Maheswaran elected for twelfth year

R. Maheswaran was once again elected as the President of the Kandy District Hockey Association at their AGM held last Sunday at the Peradeniya University faculty club Kandy. This is his twelfth year at the top without a break.

M.A.M. Ashraf was elected as the Secretary and A.B. Godigamuwa was elected the Treasurer.

N. Paraneetharan is the assistant secretary and R.T.R. Raheem the assistant treasurer. Vice Presidents are, P. Kumara, D. Herath, S. Dissanayake, G.G. Dharmaratna and H. Marikar.

The new committee vowed to bring back the game of hockey to the position where it was in the early days. They will have to apply an analytical approach if they want to succeed consistently at the highest level. It is high time Kandy hockey begins a revival and come out with a good show. They are hoping to start with the inter club league followed by the knock-outs and Sevens tournaments.