Sri Lanka pick netball squad for World Cup | Sunday Observer

Sri Lanka pick netball squad for World Cup

Sri Lanka announced its 12 member squad for the forthcoming Netball World Cup to be held in Liverpool, England in July.

Sri Lanka has retained almost the same squad that became the undisputed Champions at the Asian Netball Championship in 2018 with the exception of one player, Deepika Darshani replacing Sureka Gamage.

The team will be led by Chathurangi Jayasooriya with Thilaka Jinadasa as the coach.

The selection the committee was headed by the former national player Pathma Bethwala along with Sakunthala Wejetunge and Seetha Ramani.

Sri Lanka squad:

Chathurangi Jayasooriya (Air Force SC), Darshika Abeywickrama (HNB), Gayani Dissanayake (HNB), Tharjini Sivalingam (Seylan Bank), Thilini Waththegedara (Air Force SC), Gayanjali Amarawansa (HNB), Hasitha Mendis (Navy SC), Deepika Darshani (Navy SC), Dulangi Wannithilake (Navy SC), Dulanga Dhananji (Navy SC), Elilenthini Sethukavalar (CDB) – Nauchalee Rajapakse(Army SC)

Reserves: Marisa Fernando (Army SC), Sureka Gamage (Air Force SC) and Gayathri Kaushalya (Army SC)