Sri Lanka second stringers to be tested in South Africa | Sunday Observer

Sri Lanka second stringers to be tested in South Africa

Charith Asalanka
Charith Asalanka

Promising all-rounder Charith Asalanka was once again appointed captain of the Sri Lanka Emerging Team for the forthcoming South African series where two four-day games and seven one-day matches will be contested.

The 21-year-old player from SSC was captain of the Emerging Team at the last Asian Emerging Team Cup tournament and had to retire hurt in Sri Lanka’s opening match against Oman after injuring his leg while batting. The former Richmond and Sri Lanka under-19 skipper was also named Sunday Observer Schoolboy Cricketer twice in 2016 and 2017. Asalanka is once again back in the saddle to lead the Emerging Team in a series in South Africa which includes seven one-day games and two four-day games.

Chaminda Vaas the former Sri Lankan paceman is the coach of the tour party and the selectors have named a well balanced team for this crucial tour. Some players are already in India with the Sri Lanka ‘A’ team while leg spinner Lasith Embuldeniya who had a finger injury during the last South African Test series is once again named in the team with former Peterite off spinner Nishan Peiris. Asalanka himself is a useful off spinner. Former Royal College skipper Chamika Karunaratne who has already represented Sri Lanka against Australia, is named in both the one-day and four-day teams. Karunaratne took five wickets for Sri Lanka A against India A to earn him the man of the match award in their win in a one-dayer.

Dilshan Madushanka the 19-year-old paceman from Hungama Vijayaba MV is in the one-day squad.

The Sri Lanka Emerging Team will play their first one-day match on June 29 against South African Emerging Team. The first four-day game will be played from July 18 to 21 and the final four-day game from July 25 to 28.

Sri Lankan Emerging Team squad for one-day games:

Sandun Weerakkody, Pathum Nissanka, Minod Bhanuka, Charith Asalanka (Captain), Shammu Ashan, Kamindu Mendis, Ashen Bandara, Chamika Karunaratne, Asitha Fernando, Kalana Perera, Dilshan Madushanka, Lahiru Madushanka, Amila Aponsu, Ramesh Mendis, Sangeeth Cooray.

Squad for the four-day games:

Lahiru Udara, Hasitha Boyagoda, Pathum Nissanka, Minod Bhanuka, Charith Asalanka (Captain), Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Asitha Fernando, Kalana Perera, Mohamed Shiraz, Jehan Daniel, Lasith Embuldeniya, Nishan Peiris, Promod Maduwantha, Ashen Bandara.