SLASSCOM elects new Chairman, Board of Directors | Sunday Observer

SLASSCOM elects new Chairman, Board of Directors

SLASSCOM Board of Directors and General Council 2019/20
SLASSCOM Board of Directors and General Council 2019/20

Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer at IFS R&D International, Ranil Rajapakse was elected as the Chairman of the Sri Lanka Association of Software and Services Companies (SLASSCOM) at the Annual General Meeting held at the Galle Face Hotel, Colombo recently.

Rajapakse said that having a strong country brand and a creative and innovative talent pool with the right mindset are key success factors for the industry and the country. His main areas of focus would be on Developing Capacity by focusing on enriching the talent pipeline where there is a strong need to strengthen numbers, quality and mindset of the talent pool coming into the industry, Country Branding and Positioning building on the Island of Ingenuity brand, and continuing to provide more value to SLASSCOM member organizations.

The members also elected the office bearers for the term 2019/2020: Channa Manoharan was appointed as Vice Chairman 1 while Sandra de Zoysa was appointed as Vice Chairman 2. Ashique Ali was appointed as Director Operations and Shevan Goonetilleke was appointed as Director Finance.

The other Board Directors include - Chandi Dharmaratne, Hasith Yaggahawita, Rasika Karunatilake, Haridhu Abeygoonaratne, Nuwan Perera, Nishan Mendis and Srikanthan Jayarajah.

The following were appointed to the SLASSCOM General Council:

Shehani Seneviratne (99X Technology), Shiraz Lye (IFS), Rohith Pradeep (SAKS Global), Rishi Batta (HSBC Electronic Data Processing Lanka), Lakmini Wijesundera (Ironone Technologies), Chamira Jayasinghe (Arimac), Boshan Dayaratne (CICRA), Dilan Rajapakse (B-Sharp), Bani Chandrasena, (LSEG), Anura de Alwis (Pyxle), Sampath Jayasundara, (hSenid Business Solutions), Mudith Uswatte (Calcey Technologies), Shanaka Fernando (WNS Global Services), Dee Liyanwela (LSEG), Rohan Fernando (Moody’s Analytics), Shanaka Rabel (Millennium I.T.E.S.P.), Chamil Jeewantha (Zone24x7), Firaz Markar, (Stax), Kushani Kalpage, (Sysco Labs), Shehan Kumar (Pearson), and Dakshika Jayathilaka (WSO2)

Guest speaker, Founder of Sri Lanka Unites, Prashan de Visser outlined the importance of building an inclusive Sri Lankan national identity, that will pave the way for a peaceful and prosperous future. Potential areas of collaboration with SLASSCOM include setting up ICT labs in the regions, volunteers to serve as mentors and flagging hate speech content. Past Chairman SLASSCOM and CIO Virtusa, Madu Ratnayake, facilitated this session.