Rugby office-bearers continue with new Disciplinary head | Sunday Observer

Rugby office-bearers continue with new Disciplinary head

Current Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR) officials will continue to administer the sport for another one year following their re-election for a second term at their annual AGM held at the NOC Auditorium yesterday while appointing a lawyer as its head of the Disciplinary Committee in keeping with a World Rugby directive.

They had discussed several issues pertaining to the standard of rugby and discipline among the players and spectators and what action should be taken in the future.

The Disciplinary Committee saw a few changes to fall in line with the Charter of World Rugby and likewise appointed Suren de Silva as its chairman.

Silva is a lawyer by profession as required by the world governing body.

The following are the office bearers:

President: Lasitha Gunaratne

Deputy President: Rizly Illyas

Vice Presidents: Nazim Mohamed and Susantha Mendis

Secretary: Thusitha Peiris

Treasurer: Dinesh Perera

Council Members: Fazal Mohamed, Jude Pillai, Roshan Deen, Maj. Gen. Sathyapriya Liyanage, Shamrath Fernando, Brig. Sunil Ranasinghe, Tuan Dole and Thilangani Warakagoda.