Rajeev Rajapakse wins HSBC Premier golf title | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

Rajeev Rajapakse wins HSBC Premier golf title

8 September, 2019
Rajeev Rajapakse with the HSBC Premier Challenge Trophy
Rajeev Rajapakse with the HSBC Premier Challenge Trophy

Former tennis star Rajeev Rajapakse became the overall winner of the HSBC Premier Golf Tournament that was played at the Nuwara Eliya golf course over the weekend.

Rajapakse obtained a Stableford score of 37 points to clinch the HSBC Premier Challenge Trophy and was also the winner of the A division.

Nishan Premathiratne was adjudged overall winner in the C Seniors and women’s division with a score of 37 points. Rohith Silva won the B division with 35 points and better back nine and Janaki Sugathapala won the Ladies division with 33 points, while Nimal Perera won the Seniors division with 32 points.

The two overall winners were each presented with fully sponsored hospitality packages to watch the HSBC WGC Champions held in China, an opportunity to see many top golfers in the world at the Sheshan International Golf course in Shanghai, from October 31 to November 3.

Ravi Liyanage and Manjula Lanerolle became the ultimate winners of the pre-event held on August 30 called the “Roll a Putt under the Stars”.

Award Winners:

‘Role a Putt under the stars’ Winners: Ravi Liyanage/ Manjula Lanerolle

Longest Drive and closest to the pin: Praveen Dias

Best Score on the 3 Hidden Holes: Tyeab Akbarally

Winner Ladies: Janaki Sugathapala 33 Points

Runner-up Ladies: Ahalya Rajan 31 Points

Winner Seniors Nimal Perera 32 Points

Runner-up Seniors: Kumar Boralessa 28 Points

Winner C division: Nishan Premathiratne 37 Points

Runner-up C division: (19-28) Suvin Wettimuny 36 Points

Winner B division: Rohitha Silva 35 Points B/B9.

Runner-up B division (10-18) Lee Chong Pa 35 Points

Winner A division: Rajeev Rajapakse 37 Points

Runner-up A division: (0-9) Mahela Jayawardena 29 Points

Overall Winner: (Seniors & Ladies & C): Nishan Premathiratne 37 Points

Overall Winner (A&B) & HSBC Premier Challenge Trophy

Rajeev Rajapakse 37 Points