Western Province win badminton title over Southern Province | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

Western Province win badminton title over Southern Province

Western Province A team emerged champions at the second Inter-Province Badminton Tournament in Colombo last Sunday.

The champions sealed the men’s and women’s Singles titles as well as the men’s Doubles title to walk away with a 3-1 win over eventual runners up Southern Province who won the women’s Doubles. The championship was organised by the Western Province Badminton Association in association with Sri Lanka Badminton and the matches were conducted at the Mercantile Trust Badminton Courts, at Malalasekera Mawatha, over the weekend. The annual event saw top shuttlers from eight provinces around the country in action including some of the current and former national champions. The champion team comprised Ranthushka Karunatilleke, Dinuka Karunaratne, Madhuka Dulanjana, Krishan Dhanushka, Upuli Samanthika, Oshadi Kuruppu, Achini Rathnasiri and Dilmi Dias.