Presidential Export Awards ceremony concludes | Sunday Observer

Presidential Export Awards ceremony concludes

The 23rd Presidential Export Award Ceremony (PEA) organized by the Sri Lanka Export Development Board (EDB) was held on Thursday under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena at the BMICH.

A large number of exporters were present. The award winners were presented PEA Trophy and a Certificate and they have the privilege to use the ‘Award logo’ as a marketing tool for three years.

The Presidential Export Awards (PEA) initiated by the EDB in 1981, is presented to the exporters who have made a significant contribution to Sri Lanka’s exports.

This year’s ceremony recognised exporters for their excellence in the financial year 2018/19 and the awards symbolize the national recognition of exporters, particularly in non-traditional products and service sectors.

The selections for the awards were done by a panel headed by the Retired Judge of the Supreme Court. In total, 89 Awards (14 Overall Awards, 42 Sectoral Awards and 33 Merit Awards) presented during the ceremony.

Winners were evaluated based on their performance during the financial year 2018/19 in terms of Export turnover, number of employment opportunities created, Market diversification, Growth rate as well as Value addition. Merit Awards presented to the next best exporters based on their performance as decided by the PEA Panel of Judges under sectoral awards.

MAS Holdings (Pvt.) Limited won the overall award for the ‘Exporting Conglomerate of the Year’ and Brandix Apparel Limited won this year’s ‘Exporter of the Year’ overall award.

Ernst and Young (E & Y) worked as the ‘Knowledge Partner’ of the event, and the selection process was audited by them to ensure the transparency of the selection of Award winners.

The PEA is organised by the EDB under the leadership of Mrs. Indira Malwatte, Chairperson and Chief Executive, EDB and the guidance and directions of Malik Samarawickrama, Minister of Development Strategies and International Trade and Nalin Bandara, Deputy Minister of Development Strategies and International Trade.