Entries for badminton Nationals close tomorrow | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

Entries for badminton Nationals close tomorrow

The National Badminton Championships 2019 and the 2020 Junior Nationals are scheduled to be conducted at the Sugathadasa indoor stadium from January at the Sugathadasa Indoor from January 13 - 18.

The draws for these two championships are to be held on January 10 at the SLB headquarters and draws can be viewed on the notice board at SLB Notice Board and also from the association’s official web site.

Entry forms obtained from SLB headquarters and from SLB web site should be forwarded to reach badminton headquarters at No.2, Maitland Place, Colombo 07 on or before January 6 at 4.00 pm.

Defending men’s and women’s Singles champions Dinuka Karunaratne and Thilini Hendahewa will look forward to retain the two most prestigious titles. They will have to face stiff challenges from some young highly talented players.

In the previous edition of the event, Thilini and Kavidi Sirimannage won the women’s Doubles title while Kavidi and Buwaneka Gunatilleka won the Mixed Doubles. Sachin Dias and Buwaneka captured the top honours in the men’s Doubles.

A total of rupees one million will be on offer as prize money according to the organisers in addition to trophies.