Madushan Fernando hits first MCA hundred | Sunday Observer

Madushan Fernando hits first MCA hundred

Madushan Fernando the opening batsman of David Pieris Motor Company had the honour of being the first centurion in the ‘CBL Munchee Trophy MCA ‘D’ division 40-over league cricket tournament continued last weekend.

Fernando carried his bat out after smashing a swashbuckling 127 not out in 75 balls inclusive of six sixes and 13 fours, giving DPMC a handsome eight wickets victory over 2019 runners-up, Central Finance.

He was associated in a 104 balls, 150 runs partnership for the second wicket with Sahan Ratnayake (54).

NDB Bank’s, Nimesh Fonseka too impressed bagging 5 for 14 off three overs in their 36 runs win over Delmage Group.

Debutants, Mode Engineering registered their second win, beating Colombo Dockyard by six wickets.

Nawaloka Hospitals (2019 ‘E’ division winner) after a no-result and a loss got back on track with a crushing 134 runs win over Hirdaramani Group, who tasted their first defeat after two successive wins.

A fine spell of bowling by Lalith Deshan (4/17) spearheaded Ansell Lanka to their third win with a close three wickets win over Melwire Rolling.


NDB Bank beat Delmage Group

NDB Bank: 143/6 (Rajantha Chandula 68 n.o. Muditha Elpitiya 30)

Delmage Group: 107/9 (Tharindu Vidanapathirana 33, Isuru Vidanapathirana 20, Nimesh Fonseka 5/14)

David Pieris beat Central Finance

Central Finance: 198/9 (Nimesh Fernando 50 n.o. Vikum Costa 25, Lakmal Prabashwara 28, Lakshan de Silva 4/53)

David Peiris Motors: 202/2 (Madushan Fernando 121 n.o. Shahan Ratnayake 54)

Ansell Lanka beat Melwire Rolling

Melwire Rolling: 133 (Ishan Hansaka 26, M. Seshan Kumar 27, P. Muthukrishnan 23, Lalith Deshan 4/17)

Ansell Lanka: 137/7 (L. Deshan 31 n.o. C. Sanjeewa 25, J. Wanniarachchi 26)

Mode Engineering beat Dockyard

Colombo Dockyard: 120 (HJK Wickramasinghe 46, Asanka Kularatne 3/29)

Mode Engineering: 122/4 (Dasun Samarasinghe 38, Deshan Jayanga 22, Rajmohan Chandramohan 21)

Nawaloka Hospitals beat Hirdaramani

Nawaloka Hospitals: 237/9 (Shamila Nadeesh 59, Sanka Poorna 44, Nishan Hasarel 29, Tharindu Suraj 29, MAM Saharan 3/35)

Hirdaramani Industries: 103 (MAM Saharan 25, Thiwanka Kekulawala 4/35, Samila Nadeesh 3/18) (YK)