Over 125 students recognised | Sunday Observer
Young Computer Scientists awards

Over 125 students recognised

FITIS (Federation of Information Technology Industry Sri Lanka) and the Ministry of Education organised the Young Computer Scientists Award for the 18th consecutive time supported by ICTA and the Informatics Institute of Technology (IIT).

The awards ceremony was held at the auditorium of the Ministry of Education recently.

A spokesperson from FITIS said this time that there was an overwhelming response for the competition and 126 Young Computer Scientists were recognised from national and international schools for their talent and innovation in computing.

The YCS competition is open to three groups of students; ages 10 to 12 - the sub junior category, 13 to 16 - junior category and 17 to 20 years, the senior category. The selection process is based on an initial assessment by a panel of judges, followed by a presentation/demonstration by the students and a final judgment by the same panel selected from industry and academia. This year the panel of judges were headed by Director, University of Colombo School of Computing (UCSC), Prof. K. P. Hewagamage. Overall winners of the competition were nominated for the Asia Pacific ICT Awards (APICTA) 2019 in Vietnam last month.

The winners who participated in APICTA were, B. G. N. A. Gamaarachchi (18) of Ranabima Royal College, Kandy, H. M. M. K. K. B. Herath (19) of Poramadulla Central from Kandy, W. N. D. Fernando (20) of Medagama Abhaya, Chilaw, S. B. Karunasena (15) of OKI International, Biyagama as well as L. M. Y. Jayasinghe (13) of Thurstan College, Colombo and Kisali R. Dhanapala (10) of Sri Rahula College, Anuradhapura.