Sajith group mulls legal action | Sunday Observer
Suspension of UNP membership

Sajith group mulls legal action

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) is contemplating legal action against the UNP Working Committee decision to suspend 99 members including the UNP Deputy Leader Sajith Premadasa who had handed over nominations from the new coalition for the upcoming General Election.

SJB General Secretary Ranjith Madduma Bandara said they have not received any written notification regarding the suspension of their party membership adding that if they receive any such letter they would consult their lawyers regarding the future course of action to be taken.

As the majority of the UNP Working Committee members are now in the SJB led by Sajith Premadasa, he questioned how a minority in the UNP Working Committee convened a meeting and unanimously decided to confirm the suspension of 99 party members.

The decision reached by a small group of the Working Committee at Sirikotha on May 29 was undemocratic, the SJB General Secretary told the Sunday Observer.

He said, “If the UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe can change the composition of the Working Committee as he wishes there is no democracy then,” and added that the SJB was formed in line with a decision reached by the UNP Working Committee. The UNP General Secretary Akila Viraj Kariyawasam on May 27 said letters have been directed to party members who signed nomination papers for the forthcoming General Election from other political parties, demanding the reason for their conduct.

He said none of the UNP members who signed nomination papers for the impending election from other political parties had sought the written permission of the Working Committee.

UNP sources said the positions and responsibilities held by the said members within the party would cease as a result of this action.

The UNP Working Committee decision would affect 99 of its members including prominent ex-UNP MPs Sajith Premadasa, Kabir Hashim, Lakshman Kiriella, Mangala Samaraweera, Gayantha Karunatilleka, Thalatha Ahukorale, Ranjith Madduma Bandara , Buddhika Pathirana, Harin Fernando, Sarath Fonseka, Eran Wickramaratne, Harsha de Silva, Ajith P. Perera, Sujeewa Senasinghe, Nalin Bandara, S.M. Marikkar, Ajith Mannapperuma, Mujibur Rahuman, Harshana Rajakaruna, Kavinda Jayawardena, Hesha Vithanage, Hirunika Premachandra and M.H.A. Haleem.