Inauguration Assembly of Children’s Parliament of Sri Lanka | Sunday Observer

Inauguration Assembly of Children’s Parliament of Sri Lanka

12 July, 2020

The Sri Lanka United Nations Friendship Organization (SUNFO) organised the Inauguration Assembly of Sustainable Development Goals Children’s Parliament of Sri Lanka at the BCIS Auditorium, Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall recently. Nearly 75 children participated from nine provinces and also launched the logo of the children’s parliament.

They selected  the Prime Minister, Speaker and the  Opposition Leader with 17 Ministers to work on 17 Sustainable Goals of the United Nations and took oaths from International Interchange Development Association (IIDA) Group President Prof. Moon Yong Jo. Former State Minister of Technology and Innovation Thilanga Sumathipala was the chief guest. Director General, SUNFO Dr. Deshapriya S. Wijetunge delivered the welcome speech.

  Sugath Yalegama (Director General Sustainable Development Council), Ms. Sujatha Alahapperuma (Deputy Chairperson National Child Protection Authority) and Jurpas Pitaksethakam (Beauty Queen of Thailand) were present.


 Text and pix:  Ruzaik Farook