PM to be sworn in tomorrow | Sunday Observer

PM to be sworn in tomorrow

Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, who created an electoral record at the 2020 General Election by obtaining the highest number of preference votes ever (527,364) will be sworn in as the country’s 14th Prime Minister before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the Kelaniya Raja Maha Viharaya tomorrow (09) morning, Government sources said.

The Prime Minister-elect completed 50 years of Parliamentary politics in July this year, having entered Parliament at the young age of 24 in 1970. He has since been elected President twice and has been appointed Prime Minister thrice.