Humiliating defeat for UNP | Sunday Observer

Humiliating defeat for UNP

The stronghold and the fortress  of the United National Party(UNP), Colombo came crashing down following the humiliating defeat which even did not spare its aristocratic leader at last week’s General Elections.

When the Sri Lanka Freedom Party won the General Election in 1970, the UNP was reduced to eight members but this time it failed even to get one elected. Thanks to the  Preferential Voting System and the National List, the UNP was able save its face by sending just one to parliament.

The newly formed Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) under the leadership of Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa secured 12 seats in the Colombo district. Admiral  Dr. Sarath Weerasekera secured the highest number pf preferential votes in the district while Sajith Premadasa, the leader of the Samagi Jana Balavegaya the breakaway group of the UNP obtained six seats.  The leader of the National People’s Power (NPP) Anurakumara Dissanayake was elected from the Colombo District. 

 - E.Weerapperuma