National Sports Council into three categories | Sunday Observer

National Sports Council into three categories

30 August, 2020

The newly appointed National Sports Council has been divided into three categories with different functions to study and implement ways of improving sports.

Amal Edirisuriya, the Director General of the Sports Ministry told the Sunday Observer that it was the head of the Council Mahela Jayawardena who initiated the functions and that it will be easier for each group to handle their respective areas. The 14 members of the Council will be divided into three with one group to discuss the amendments to the Sports Law, the second group to look into ways of restructuring the Sports Department and the third to make the data base for sports persons who will be participating in international events.

The National Sports Council will present our reports to the Sports Minister within two months and the three sub committees will meet frequently to discuss matters intensively and have also created a WhatsApp group to communicate and share documents.