NCC at the mercy of giant killing Ragama cricketers | Sunday Observer

NCC at the mercy of giant killing Ragama cricketers

11 April, 2021

Ragama CC squad: Ishan Jayaratne (Captain), Binura Fernando, Janith Liyanage, Saminda Fernando, Nishan Madushka, Dineth Thimodya, Udara Jayasundara, Sanjula Bandara, Delon Peiris, Amila Aponso, Maneesha Rupasinghe, Gihan Koralage, Janaka Sampath, Shashika Dulshan, Shehan Sandaruwan, Kalhara Senaratne

Two unbeaten teams, Ragama CC and NCC clash in the final of the SLC Major Club Limited-overs cricket tournament at the SSC ground Maitland Place today.

As both teams are unbeaten predicting the side favoured to win will be difficult and the outcome will depend on how their players fare on this particular day.

Both teams won five games out of five and collected 23 points each. However, Ragama CC seems to have acquired some morale booster having thumped the high riding Army SC by eight wickets in the semi-final whereas NCC managed to beat Baduraliya CC by 18 runs in the other semi-final.

Ragama CC will rely heavily on Janith Liyanage and Nishan Madushka to contribute generously in the batting line up. Liyanage in particular has scored 419 runs so far and is the most impressive while Binura Fernando with 20 scalps and Ishan Jayaratne with 15 wickets are the main bowlers expected to shine for Ragama CC.

NCC will rely heavily on skipper Angelo Perera and Kamil Kishara to contribute heavily with the bat. Perera has scored 333 runs while Mishara has contributed 324 runs, along with Upul Tharanga form their batting forte.

Sri Lanka fast bowler Lahiru Kumara and Ashain Daniel will be their power in the bowling department.

Ragama CC has beaten last year’s champions Chilaw Marians CC, Galle CC, Panadura SC, Lankan CC and Navy SC in the first round. They then beat Tamil Union by six wickets in the quarter-final.

NCC beat Tamil Union, Negombo CC, Nugegoda S & WC, Kalutara TC and ACE Capital CC in the first round. They then beat Navy SC by 167 runs in the quarter-final. (YK)

NCC squad: Angelo Perera (Captain), Upul Tharanga, Kamil Mishara, Chaturanga de Silva, Lahiru Kumara, Chamika Karunaratne, Hasitha Boyagoda, Dineth Jayakody, Kavin Bandara, Lahiru Udara, Chamika Gunasekara, Sahan Arachchige, Praveen Nimesh, Yugeesha Dishan, Ashain Daniel