Sri Lanka pick 22 players and 11 officials | Sunday Observer

Sri Lanka pick 22 players and 11 officials

30 May, 2021

Sri Lanka named a squad of 22 players to represent the country at two qualifying round matches of the FIFA World Cup 2022 Preliminary round in South Korea along with 11 officials scheduled to leave the island on May 31.

The two games also will be considered as the qualifying round matches for the AFC Asian Cup scheduled to be played in China in 2023.

Sujan Perera one of the most experienced goal keepers in the island who also played for several overseas clubs will lead the team on this tour playing under the banner of Golden Army with expectations running high.

Sri Lanka will meet Lebanon on June 5 at 11.30 am (SL time) and South Korea on June 9 (4.30 pm SL time.

The tour party:

Sujan Perera (Up Country Lions), Prabath Arunasiri (Blue Eagles), RP Danushka (New Youngs), Harsha Fernando (Blue Eagles), Roshan Appuhamy (Defenders), Chamod Dilshan (Colombo FC), Charitha Ratnayake (Colombo FC), Duckson Puslas (New Youngs), Chathuranga Madushan (Up Country Lions), Marvin Hamilton (Omole), Chalana Chameera (Colombo FC), Jude Supan (Renown), Mohamed Musthaq (Up Country Lions), Mohamad Fazal (Blue Star), Kavindu Ishan (Up Country Lions), Dillon de Silva (Queens Park Rangers UK), Ahmed Razeek (Up Country Lions), Mohamed Aakib (Colombo FC), Asikur Rahuman (Defenders), Mohamed Hasmeer (Sea Hawks), Supun Dananjaya (Red Star), Rifkhan Mohamed (Defenders)

Officials: Amir Alagic (coach), Asif Ansar (manager), Amir Doksanaltic (assistant coach), Dr. MRF Jayasuriya (doctor), Maduwantha Bandara (media officer), Eesaa Radhee Ibrahim (technical officer), Ashan Gamlath (fitness coach), Sanka Vidanaarachchi (performance analyst), Muhiseen Barsith (physiotherapist), Pritheeka Caldera (masseur) and Roshan Kitman.