Golf elects office bearers | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

Golf elects office bearers

12 June, 2021

Michael Perera Magala was unanimously elected as the president of Sri Lanka Golf when they elected their office bearers at their Annual General Meeting (AGM) held online on June 1 under the supervision of the Department of Sports Development of the Ministry of Sports.

Sri Lanka Golf (SLG) is the controlling body for golf in Sri Lanka and had failed to conduct their AGM last November though the deadline was set out by the Ministry of Sports. Thereafter, SLG was under a competent authority headed by an official of the Sports Ministry until they conducted the AGM on June 1.

Magala was the immediate past president of the Royal Colombo Golf Club (RCGC) and known as a single figure golfer with much experience as an administrator.

Magala takes over at a critical time when the game is slowly slipping away from growing among the young golfers amid the Covid-19 pandemic. His biggest challenge will be to ensure that the sport is played regularly while battling the obstacles.

Ranil Pieris the incumbent President of the Royal Colombo Golf Club, was elected Vice President.

Lal Wickrematunge a fast bowler in cricket during his early days, was elected as the Secretary.

Former treasurer Sudath Kumara, was re-elected to complete the team of office bearers for a two year term.

Office bearers:

President: Michael Perera Magala
Vice President: Ranil Pieris
Secretary: Lal Raj Wickramatunge
Treasurer: Sudath Kumara