Rugby referees and match officials get down to business | Sunday Observer

Rugby referees and match officials get down to business

18 July, 2021
Dilroy Fernando-Dinka Peiris
Dilroy Fernando-Dinka Peiris

Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR) and the Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Association (SLSRFA) have called on the rest of the sport’s stakeholders in the country to recommence the game at both club and school level.

Former referee Dinka Peiris who was elected president of the Sri Lanka Society of Rugby Football Referees (SLSRFR) at their AGM held on January 9, 2021 said that his priority will be to develop match officials (referees) with the assistance of senior referees.

These senior officials are renowned in World Rugby and accredited either as educators, trainers, performance reviewers and coaches of match officials.

Dilroy Fernando will be the chairman of the Training, Development and Education section as he is the most qualified and is currently a performance reviewer and trainer at Asia Rugby.

Vimal Perera will head the Review Committee (CMO in ARFU), Anil Jayasinghe (member of the MO Selection committee at ARFU) will be the coach of match officials while Tony Amit will head the Assignment Committee.

Nizam Jamaldeen (Member of ARFU Referee’s Committee) and Shamrath Fernando (CMO of ARFU) have been assigned the task of marketing and sponsorship of rugby while Rohan Fernando (former MO) will head the strength and fitness segment along with Nilco Bandara.

“All these officials will be monitored and answerable to the General Committee as per the (SLSRFR) Constitution,” said Peiris.

“I am happy with the committee and the development work done headed by Dilroy Fernando and his support team. Though the game has not taken to the field yet, we are geared to take the field,” said Dinka Peiris.

They had a two day workshop on March 6 and 7 at Longden Place under the banner “To Be The Best We Can.” The Workshop was facilitated by Dilroy Fernando.

The short term plan is to have six quality referees by the end of 2021 who will be able to handle any A division school or club fixture. The long term plan is to have a minimum of two in the Asian Rugby top panel and have at least four in the Asia Rugby Emerging Panel by end of 2023. Aaqil Jamaldeen and Dilum Deeshana are the two MOs in the Asia Rugby Development Panel.

As the first hurdle the Association has selected nine potential match officials to the A panel. They are Priyantha Gunaratne, Aaqil Jamaldeen, Hasantha Weranga, Ishanka Abeyakoon, Dilum Deeshana, Ravin Alexander, Kelum Sandaruwan, Gihan Yatawara and Isuru Perera.

Dilroy Fernando together with Rohan Fernando and Anil Jayasinghe conducted training, education and development programs every Saturday.

When asked about the payments yet to be received from SLR that was due for nearly three years, Peiris said that he is negotiating with its president Rizly Illyas and was confident they will find a way to pay the due amount for the services rendered by SLSRFR.