Sri Lanka announce squad for T20 World Cup | Page 2 | Sunday Observer

Sri Lanka announce squad for T20 World Cup

12 September, 2021

New spinner Maheesh Theekshana has found a place in the Sri Lanka T20 World Cup squad while batsman Bhanuka Rajapaksa who is yet to justify his place in the team has also found a slot.

The other slow bowlers in the side are Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva, left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama and off-spinner Akila Dananjaya.

Wicket-keeper batsman Minod Bhanuka who held so much of expectation has no slot while in comes the recalled Dinesh Chandimal who made an unbeaten 66 in the first T20 match against South Africa who won by 28 runs. Theekshana performed well in the recent domestic T20 Invitational league, organised by SLC.

Sri Lanka will play against Namibia, Ireland and the Netherlands in three qualifying round matches at the T20 World Cup in the UAE starting on October 17.

Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Dhananjaya de Silva, Avishka Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Kamindu Mendis, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Maheesh Theekshana, Binura Fernando, Praveen Jayawickrama.